What Did I Do? by Jessica Jarlvi

I CAN’T REMEMBER…

Kristin is on the run. From her life. From herself. 

When two murders take place in Chicago, Kristin quickly finds herself a prime suspect. The problem is she can’t be sure of what she did or didn’t do.

DID THEY MAKE ME DO IT…

In fear for her life, Kristin flees abroad to start her life over. But it’s not that easy to escape the past. And whatever she’s done, someone is on her tail, wanting her to pay. The question is: could she be a killer and not even remember?

Page-turning, gripping, dark, and utterly addictive, this is one thriller that you won’t be able to put down. Perfect for fans of Cara Hunter, Mark Edwards, Caroline England.

I received a free copy of this book courtesy of the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

I have to admit, at first I found this book to be a bit slow-burning. Certain events were recounted a few times over as different information came to light. But once it got going, I was gripped. Kristin is on the run as death seems to surround her. Having grown up in a well-to-do Swedish immigrant family living in Chicago, she had opportunities many would give anything for. But she grew up troubled, blighted by struggles with her mental health. A series of events unfold leading Kristen to flee America and go into hiding in her home country.

What Did I Do? by Jessica Jarlvi

What Did I Do? follows charts two timelines – the present and the past. Following two stories that differ wildly tell of the trauma experienced by a troubled young woman for much of her life. As a result, tragedy follows her and a fragile mental state raises troubling questions. What hand has she had in fatal events so close to her? Surely she would remember if she had been involved in the death of people close to her.

What ensues is an intercontinental game of cat and mouse. Kristin seeks to quell the demons in her past and flee the trouble that always seems to follow her. As the story unfolds we discover more about the difficult youth she experienced.

Once the book found its stride, I was hooked. Discovering the past and present and how everything came together drove me onwards. Right until the very end, I still wasn’t certain where the story was going. It made for an exciting read.

My rating:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s